Québec

The Maritime Strategy seeks to promote by 2030 the creation of more than 30 000 new direct jobs and to encourage public and private investments of roughly $9 billion. To this end, the Québec government will foster the creation of business opportunities linked to the maritime economy. Through its initiatives, the government intends to play a decisive role to encourage investment opportunities for businesses that will generate jobs and economic growth, in a sustainable development perspective.

Several measures will be implemented to encourage Québec firms to participate in the realization of the Maritime Strategy.

In particular, the government intends to develop logistical hubs that will offer high added-value services. It also intends to contribute to training qualified workers to satisfy the needs of companies in the maritime sector and to broaden research and development in the sector.

The development of industrial port zones will enable businesses to achieve greater synergy and offer a comparative advantage to firms that require port services.

The government will invest in the development of maritime tourism potential, including recognized cruise stopovers along the 49th parallel, by supporting the projects of businesses and other parties involved in its development.

Direct financial assistance will also be offered to support in-house business innovation projects, especially in the marine biotechnology sector.

Moreover, the government intends to promote local economic spinoff by relying on the leadership of entrepreneurs in the maritime sector and SMEs.

These are but some of the business opportunities that the government will create and the investments that it will make to generate economic and social growth for Québec firms.

Lastly, the Québec government will rely on the leadership of entrepreneurs in the maritime sector and SMEs to ensure that the Maritime Strategy achieves its full potential by the year 2030.

Québec

La Stratégie maritime vise à créer plus de 30 000 emplois directs et à encourager des investissements publics et privés d’environ 9 milliards de dollars, d’ici 2030. Pour y arriver, le gouvernement du Québec va favoriser la création d’occasions d’affaires liées à l’économie maritime. Par ses interventions, le gouvernement entend jouer un rôle déterminant afin d’encourager les occasions d’investissements pour les entreprises qui seront génératrices d’emplois et de croissance économique, et ce, dans une volonté de développement durable.

Plusieurs mesures seront mises en place pour encourager l’implication des entreprises québécoises dans la réalisation de la Stratégie maritime.

Le gouvernement entend notamment créer des pôles logistiques qui permettront d’offrir des services à haute valeur ajoutée. Il entend également contribuer à la formation d’une main-d’œuvre qualifiée, en adéquation avec les besoins des entreprises maritimes, ainsi qu’à faire croître la recherche et le développement dans le domaine maritime.

Le développement des zones industrialo-portuaires permettra aux entreprises de générer une plus grande synergie, tout en offrant un avantage comparatif à celles qui nécessitent des services portuaires.

Le gouvernement investira dans le développement du potentiel du tourisme maritime, dont les escales de croisières reconnues de part et d’autre du 49e parallèle, en soutenant des projets de développement d’entreprises et d’accueil touristique.

Une aide financière directe sera également accordée afin de soutenir des projets d’innovation en entreprise, notamment dans le secteur des biotechnologies marines.

Le gouvernement entend également favoriser les retombées économiques locales en misant sur le leadership des entrepreneurs et entrepreneuses du secteur maritime ainsi que des PME.

Il ne s’agit ici que d’une parcelle des occasions d’affaires et des investissements que le gouvernement effectuera afin de générer une croissance économique et sociale pour les entreprises québécoises.

Enfin, le gouvernement du Québec mise sur le leadership des entrepreneurs et entrepreneuses du secteur maritime ainsi que des PME afin que la Stratégie maritime réalise son plein potentiel, d’ici l’horizon 2030.