Back to press releases
29 June 2015

Québec’s Maritime Strategy : a unique, ambitious and integrated project of economic, social and environmental development

Montréal, June 29, 2015 – “I am announcing today a series of measures that will enable us to benefit fully and sustainably from our maritime potential and make Québec a special gateway for major markets in northeastern North America. We have been working for several months on the strategy, which has been eagerly-awaited, first by a number of partners and investors that we met during missions abroad but also by Québec businesses and many Quebecers who live in the regions where spinoff will be especially apparent. It is a project that will mobilize Québec as a whole and that will have extensive economic, social and environmental benefits,” Québec Premier Philippe Couillard noted at the launching of the first Maritime Strategy in Québec’s history and the unveiling of the 2015-2020 Action Plan.

Minister for Transport and the Implementation of the Maritime Strategy Jean D’Amour, Minister of Tourism Dominique Vien, Minister of Transport and Minister responsible for the Montréal region Robert Poëti, Minister of Education, Higher Education and Research François Blais, Mayor of Montréal Denis Coderre, and President and CEO of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ Gaétan Morin attended the event in the Port of Montréal.

“The Maritime Strategy is at one and the same time ambitious and realistic. It seeks to foster sustainable growth in Québec’s maritime economy and encourage the creation of stimulating jobs in all regions of Québec. By 2030, we estimate at 30 000 the number of direct jobs created in all regions. Tourism, fishing, logistics, research and maritime transport are some of the sectors that will benefit from the positive impact on employment,” Minister D’Amour said.

The initial action plan under the Maritime Strategy hinges on a financial framework of more than $1.5 billion unveiled in March 2015.

Focusing on a maritime economy

Premier Couillard emphasized the importance of taking advantage of Québec’s strategic geographical location in order to promote the creation of business opportunities linked to the maritime economy. He then announced major infrastructure investments related to the maritime sector and the establishment logistical hubs under a multi-site approach.

Among the other measures put forward to capitalize on the maritime territory’s economic potential, the Maritime Strategy calls for:

  • the strengthening of the logistics chain;
  • the establishment of industrial port zones;
  • the reinforcement of the fishing and aquaculture industries;
  • maritime tourism development;
  • the development of scientific knowledge;
  • the designation of protected marine areas.

“The establishment of logistical hubs and of industrial port zones will make Québec a key partner for companies wishing to do business in Québec, in particular along the St. Lawrence River. By choosing Québec, businesses can integrate into an efficient logistical process, round out their production chain here and benefit from competitive advantages that the Maritime Strategy offers to enhance a company’s performance,” Premier Couillard added.

Moreover, the government intends to collaborate with the maritime industry to better satisfy employers’ needs. Over the next five years, $15 million will be invested in manpower development to achieve the highest levels of knowledge.

“The Greater Montréal area and the Port of Montréal figure prominently in the rollout of the Maritime Strategy, which will enable the Port of Montréal to reaffirm its role as a leading port in North America. Furthermore, the government intends to support port and intermodal infrastructure projects devoted to freight transportation. Our reliance on marine infrastructure and intermodal transport will bolster the competitiveness of Québec businesses and Québec will, more than ever, serve as a hub for transatlantic trade,” Minister of Transport and Minister responsible for the Montréal region Robert Poëti noted.

Develop maritime tourism

“The St. Lawrence River is an outstanding asset to attract visitors. In 2008, the Québec government decided to develop six new cruise stopovers, a winning decision. Last year, Québec attracted 355 000 cruise passengers and crew members, a record season. We now want to improve the cruise terminals in Montréal and Québec City. What is more, $55 million was earmarked in the last Budget for the projects. We have also allocated $30 million to support projects that will develop, in particular, land tours between stopovers. We want tourists to discover the beauty of the river, which offers numerous landscapes, whether they are cycling, walking, driving or sailing,” Minister of Tourism Dominique Vien said.

The Maritime Strategy also intends to make the most of the growing popularity of the St. Lawrence River and develop maritime tourism potential north and south of the 49th parallel. The government will, therefore, pursue the implementation of the Stratégie de mise en valeur du Saint-Laurent touristique 2014-2020 and its 2014-2017 action plan. In addition to the investments mentioned earlier, $21.6 million will be earmarked for the development of certain natural attractions along the river.

Support the fishing and aquaculture industry

In addition to pursuing the implementation of the Plan d’action 2013-2018 : Développer notre industrie des pêches et de l’aquaculture commerciales, the Maritime Strategy intends to rely on the perspectives that marine biotechnology offers to step up the diversification of production using seafood products. Financial assistance totalling $4.1 million will be reserved for business innovation projects, especially in the marine biotechnology sector, and $5 million has been allocated to support applied research and innovation. Among the other measures adopted in the action plan, mention should be made of support for fishing fleets wishing to obtain environmental certification and support for measures geared to the sustainable management of fish stocks and other fishery resources. The government has also confirmed the maintenance of $15 million in financial support for the commercial fishing and aquaculture industry over the next three years.

Develop knowledge and protect the environment

Given the growing pressure on the aquatic and riverine environment stemming from growing numbers of users of our riverine and maritime territory, Premier Couillard stressed the need to display greater vigilance to protect the ecosystems found there. This desire is expressed, in particular, through the development of scientific knowledge. The Premier confirmed the establishment of the Réseau Québec Maritime, a body that will assemble the requisite expertise to contend with maritime challenges, and the proposed creation of a France-Québec scientific institute devoted to maritime questions.

What is more the government intends to devote more than $2.5 million over the next five years to enhance emergency response measures at the local, regional and provincial level, and our knowledge, to prepare for any eventuality as regards hydrocarbon spills in Québec’s maritime territory. Furthermore, $875 000 will be allocated to knowledge acquisition, in particular to attain the objectives under international agreements to establish a network of marine protected areas covering at least 10 % of the sea area.

“In addition to ensuring the preservation of our ecosystems by improving, among other things, risk management related to maritime transport, we will bank on the advantages of this means of transportation to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions and protect our coastal areas. I would also like to emphasize the contribution of the 2015-2020 Action Plan in the Maritime Strategy, which is adding to our efforts to round out our network of marine protected areas. Together, we can combat climate change to ensure the quality of life of future generations,” Minister D’Amour added.

Enhance Quebecers’ quality of life

“The quality of life of Quebecers living in riverside and coastal regions is a major concern of the Maritime Strategy, which will act as a lever to promote the occupation and vitality of the regions. It includes measures to enhance the quality of life of communities and reduce the isolation of certain communities. Today, it is essential to give communities access to stimulating jobs. This is precisely what the Maritime Strategy is seeking to do by 2030, among other things through some $9 billion in public and private investments. Through such investments, in particular, we will make the Maritime Strategy a cornerstone of the Québec economy in the coming years,” Minister D’Amour said.

The strategy offers an array of means of action to revitalize Québec’s coastal regions, including the consultation and involvement of communities, an enhanced ferry service offer, the promotion of jobs in the maritime sector, training matched to the needs of the local market, and measures to attract and retain young people in the regions.

“The government and community interveners are already at work to meet the significant worker training challenge that the Maritime Strategy poses. I am thinking, in particular, of the elaboration of a new vocational studies program in seamanship, which will begin in the fall of 2015. This is a striking example of the manner in which the education network will support this sector by offering young people solid training that leads to promising trades,” Minister Blais said.

“With the Maritime Strategy, we are inviting all Quebecers to benefit from the full potential that the wealth of our vast maritime territory offers. It is an invitation to work together to fully take advantage of stimulating careers for our youth, unique landscapes for our families, and growth opportunities for our businesses,” the Premier concluded.

The unabridged version of the Maritime Strategy is available at strategiemaritime.gouv.qc.ca in the “Publications” section.

- 30 -

Retour aux communiqués
29 juin 2015

La Stratégie maritime du Québec : un projet unique, ambitieux et intégré de développement économique, social et environnemental

Montréal, le 29 juin 2015. – « J’annonce aujourd’hui une série de mesures qui permettront de tirer pleinement et durablement parti de notre potentiel maritime, et de faire du Québec une porte d’entrée privilégiée pour les grands marchés du nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord. Cette stratégie sur laquelle nous travaillons depuis déjà plusieurs mois est très attendue. Elle l’est d’abord de plusieurs partenaires et investisseurs que nous avons rencontrés lors de missions à l’étranger, mais également de nos entreprises d’ici et de bien des citoyens qui habitent en région où ses retombées se feront particulièrement sentir. C’est un projet qui mobilisera l’ensemble du Québec et dont les bénéfices seront nombreux sur les plans économique, social et environnemental », a affirmé le premier ministre du Québec, Philippe Couillard, lors du lancement de la toute première Stratégie maritime de l’histoire du Québec et du dévoilement du plan d’action 2015-2020.

L’événement, qui a eu lieu au port de Montréal, s’est déroulé en présence du ministre délégué aux Transports et à l’Implantation de la stratégie maritime, Jean D’Amour, de la ministre du Tourisme, Dominique Vien, du ministre des Transports et ministre responsable de la région de Montréal, Robert Poëti, du ministre de l’Éducation, de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche, François Blais, du maire de Montréal, Denis Coderre, et du président et chef de la direction du Fonds de solidarité FTQ, Gaétan Morin.

« La Stratégie maritime, à la fois ambitieuse et réaliste, a pour objectifs de stimuler une croissance durable de l’économie maritime québécoise et d’encourager la création d’emplois stimulants dans toutes les régions du Québec. D’ici 2030, nous estimons à 30 000 le nombre d’emplois directs qui verront le jour dans toutes les régions. Le tourisme, la pêche, la logistique, la recherche et le transport maritime sont quelques-uns des secteurs qui généreront des effets positifs sur l’emploi », a souligné le ministre D’Amour.

Le premier plan d’action de la Stratégie maritime compte sur un cadre financier de plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars dévoilé en mars 2015.

Vers une économie maritime

Le premier ministre a fait valoir l’importance de miser sur les avantages de la situation géographique stratégique du Québec afin de favoriser la création d’occasions d’affaires liées à l’économie maritime. Il a du même souffle annoncé des investissements majeurs dans les infrastructures liées au secteur maritime, et la création de pôles logistiques selon une approche multi-sites.

Parmi les autres mesures mises de l’avant pour tirer profit du potentiel économique du territoire maritime, la Stratégie maritime prévoit :

  • le renforcement de la chaîne logistique;
  • la création de zones industrialo-portuaires;
  • le renforcement des industries de la pêche et de l’aquaculture;
  • le développement du tourisme maritime;
  • le développement de la connaissance scientifique;
  • la désignation d’aires marines protégées.

« La création de pôles logistiques et le développement de zones industrialo-portuaires feront du Québec un partenaire incontournable pour les entreprises qui souhaitent s’établir au Québec, notamment aux abords du Saint-Laurent. En choisissant le Québec, elles pourront s’intégrer à un processus logistique performant, compléter leur chaîne de production ici même et profiter des avantages concurrentiels que procure la Stratégie maritime pour accroître le rendement d’une entreprise », a poursuivi le premier ministre.

Le gouvernement compte par ailleurs travailler de concert avec l’industrie maritime pour mieux répondre aux besoins des employeurs. Au cours des cinq prochaines années, 15 millions de dollars seront investis pour le développement des compétences de la main-d’œuvre, afin d’atteindre les plus hauts niveaux de connaissance.

« La région du Grand Montréal et le port de Montréal occupent une place importante dans le déploiement de la Stratégie maritime. Celle-ci permettra au port de Montréal de se réaffirmer comme l’un des plus importants ports en Amérique du Nord. De plus, le gouvernement entend soutenir les projets d’infrastructures portuaires et intermodales consacrés au transport des marchandises. En améliorant ses infrastructures maritimes et en misant sur le transport intermodal, la compétitivité de nos entreprises sera améliorée et le Québec sera, plus que jamais, une plaque tournante du commerce transatlantique », a ajouté le ministre des Transports et ministre responsable de la région de Montréal, Robert Poëti.

Développer le tourisme maritime

« Le Saint-Laurent est un atout incroyable pour attirer les visiteurs. En 2008, le gouvernement du Québec a pris le pari de développer six nouvelles escales de croisières. C’est un pari que nous avons gagné. L’an dernier, le Québec a attiré 355 000 croisiéristes et membres d’équipage. Une saison record. Maintenant, nous souhaitons améliorer les terminaux de croisières de Montréal et de Québec. D’ailleurs, 55 millions de dollars ont été réservés dans le dernier budget pour ces projets. Nous avons également réservé une enveloppe de 30 millions de dollars pour soutenir des projets qui permettront notamment de développer des circuits terrestres entre les escales. Notre souhait est que les touristes, peu importe qu’ils circulent à vélo, à pied, en voiture ou encore en bateau, puissent découvrir la beauté de ce fleuve qui offre des paysages multiples », a indiqué la ministre du Tourisme, Dominique Vien.

La Stratégie maritime entend ainsi exploiter la popularité croissante du Saint-Laurent et développer le potentiel du tourisme maritime, au nord et au sud du 49e parallèle. Le gouvernement poursuivra donc la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de mise en valeur du Saint-Laurent touristique 2014-2020 et son plan d’action 2014-2017. En plus des investissements nommés précédemment, une enveloppe de 21,6 millions de dollars permettra de mettre en valeur certains attraits naturels du fleuve.

Soutenir l’industrie des pêches et de l’aquaculture

Outre la poursuite de la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action 2013-2018 : Développer notre industrie des pêches et de l’aquaculture commerciales, la Stratégie maritime entend miser sur les perspectives offertes par les biotechnologies marines pour accentuer la diversification de la production utilisant les produits de la mer. À cet égard, une aide financière de 4,1 millions de dollars sera réservée à des projets d’innovation en entreprise, notamment dans le secteur des biotechnologies marines, et une enveloppe de 5 millions de dollars est destinée à soutenir la recherche appliquée et l’innovation. Parmi les autres mesures retenues dans le plan d’action, mentionnons le soutien aux flottilles de pêche désireuses d’obtenir des écocertifications et l’appui aux mesures visant une gestion durable des stocks de poissons et des autres ressources halieutiques. Le gouvernement a également confirmé le maintien d’un appui financier de 15 millions de dollars pour soutenir l’industrie des pêches et de l’aquaculture commerciales au cours des trois prochaines années.

Développer les connaissances et protéger l’environnement

Compte tenu des pressions croissantes sur l’environnement aquatique et riverain engendrées par une hausse de l’achalandage sur notre territoire maritime, le premier ministre a insisté sur la nécessité d’exercer une vigilance accrue pour protéger les différents écosystèmes qui s’y trouvent. Cette volonté se traduit notamment par le développement de la connaissance scientifique. Le premier ministre a confirmé la création du Réseau Québec Maritime, lequel rassemblera les différentes expertises requises pour faire face aux enjeux maritimes, et le projet de création d’un institut scientifique France-Québec sur les questions maritimes.

D’autre part, le gouvernement entend consacrer plus de 2,5 millions de dollars, au cours des cinq prochaines années, pour améliorer à l’échelle locale, régionale et provinciale le cadre d’intervention d’urgence et notre savoir, et ce, afin d’être parés à toute éventualité en matière de déversement d’hydrocarbures sur le territoire maritime du Québec. De plus, 875 000 dollars seront consacrés à l’acquisition de connaissances qui serviront notamment à atteindre les objectifs des accords internationaux de créer un réseau d’aires marines protégées couvrant au moins 10 % de la superficie marine.

« En plus de veiller à la préservation de nos écosystèmes, en améliorant entre autres la gestion des risques liés au transport maritime, nous allons tabler sur les avantages de ce moyen de transport pour réduire nos émissions de gaz à effet de serre, tout en protégeant nos zones côtières. Je tiens également à souligner la contribution du plan d’action 2015-2020 de la Stratégie maritime qui s’ajoute à nos efforts pour compléter notre réseau d’aires marines protégées. Ensemble, nous pouvons lutter contre les changements climatiques afin d’assurer une qualité de vie aux générations futures », a indiqué le ministre D’Amour.

Améliorer la qualité de vie des citoyennes et des citoyens

« La qualité de vie des citoyennes et des citoyens habitant les régions riveraines et côtières constitue l’une des préoccupations majeures de la Stratégie maritime. Cette dernière agira tel un levier pour favoriser l’occupation et la vitalité de ces régions. Elle comprend des mesures pour améliorer la qualité de vie des communautés et diminuer l’isolement de certaines d’entre elles. Il est aujourd’hui primordial de donner aux communautés l’accès à des emplois stimulants, et c’est justement ce que vise la Stratégie maritime, d’ici 2030, entre autres par des investissements publics et privés de quelque 9 milliards de dollars. Nous ferons de la Stratégie maritime l’une des pierres d’assises de l’économie du Québec des prochaines années », a rappelé le ministre D’Amour.

Concertation et implication des milieux, amélioration de l’offre de services des traversiers, promotion des emplois du secteur maritime, offre de formations arrimées aux besoins du marché local, mesures d’attraction et de rétention des jeunes en région; la Stratégie offre une panoplie de moyens d’action pour revitaliser les régions côtières du Québec.

« Le gouvernement et les acteurs du milieu sont déjà à l’œuvre afin de relever l’important défi de la formation de la main-d’œuvre que pose la Stratégie maritime. Je pense notamment à l’élaboration d’un nouveau programme d’études professionnelles en matelotage, qui débutera à l’automne 2015. Il s’agit d’un bel exemple de la façon dont le réseau de l’éducation va soutenir ce secteur d’activité, et ce, en offrant aux jeunes une solide formation menant à des métiers d’avenir », a déclaré le ministre Blais.

« Avec la Stratégie maritime, nous convions tous les citoyens du Québec à profiter du plein potentiel offert par les richesses de notre vaste territoire maritime. C’est une invitation à travailler tous ensemble afin de profiter pleinement de carrières stimulantes pour notre jeunesse, de paysages uniques pour nos familles, et d’occasions de croissance pour nos entreprises », a conclu le premier ministre.

La version intégrale et le sommaire de la Stratégie maritime sont accessibles au stratégiemaritime.gouv.qc.ca, dans la section Publications.

– 30 –

- 30 -