Vision 2030

By the year 2030, the Maritime Strategy will enable Québec to fully, sustainably build on its know-how and maritime assets.

Through this vision, the government is revealing what Québec’s maritime sector will be like over the next 15 years. It is indicating the path to follow so that everyone works together to make Québec a prosperous maritime nation focused on the future.

The Maritime Strategy, the first such strategy in Québec’s history, presents a perspective up to 2030 and sets out an action plan for the 2015-2020 period.

The plan is at one and the same time ambitious and realistic. It seeks to foster sustainable growth in Québec’s maritime economy and encourage the creation of quality jobs in all regions of Québec. It also seeks to protect the integrity of Québec’s river and marine ecosystems while enhancing the betterment of communities in the maritime territory.

The Maritime Strategy reflects the findings of an extensive consultation conducted among partners in Québec’s maritime sector. It also relies on the expertise of several Québec government departments and bodies.

The Maritime Strategy will, by 2030, shape and satisfy Québec’s maritime ambitions. It will contribute to ensuring the long-term survival of marine environments and their biodiversity. It will give rise to investment and job creation while confirming Québec’s place as a transatlantic trade hub.

Moreover, it will encourage scientific research, the development of maritime expertise, community consultation, and the responsible development of the maritime territory, especially the St. Lawrence River. Accordingly, it will confirm the indissociable nature of the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development.

Vision 2030

À l’horizon 2030, la Stratégie maritime aura amené le Québec à tirer pleinement et durablement parti de son savoir-faire et de ses richesses maritimes.

Avec cette vision, le gouvernement dévoile ce que sera le Québec maritime d’ici les quinze prochaines années. Il indique le chemin à suivre afin que tous et toutes travaillent ensemble pour faire du Québec une nation maritime prospère, tournée vers l’avenir.

La Stratégie maritime, la première de l’histoire du Québec, présente une vision à l’horizon 2030, tout en détaillant un plan d’action pour les cinq prochaines années, soit pour la période 2015-2020.

Ce plan, à la fois ambitieux et réaliste, a pour objectifs de stimuler une croissance durable de l’économie maritime québécoise et d’encourager la création d’emplois de qualité, dans toutes les régions du Québec. Ce plan vise aussi à protéger l’intégrité des écosystèmes fluviaux et marins du Québec, tout en améliorant le mieux-être des communautés situées sur le territoire maritime.

La Stratégie maritime reflète les résultats d’une vaste consultation effectuée auprès des différents partenaires du milieu maritime québécois. Elle s’appuie également sur l’expertise de plusieurs ministères et organismes gouvernementaux.

À l’horizon 2030, la Stratégie maritime aura su canaliser et combler les ambitions maritimes du Québec. Elle aura contribué à assurer la pérennité de ses milieux marins et de leur biodiversité. Elle aura suscité l’investissement et la création d’emplois, tout en affirmant la place du Québec comme plaque tournante pour le commerce transatlantique.

De plus, elle aura encouragé la recherche scientifique, le développement de l’expertise maritime, la concertation des communautés et la mise en valeur responsable du territoire maritime, particulièrement pour le Saint-Laurent. Ainsi, à l’image du Québec, elle aura affirmé le caractère indissociable des dimensions économique, sociale et environnementale du développement durable.